Embassy of the Republic of Uzbekistan in Islamic Republic of Pakistan
27.04.2009 8:51

????????? ?? www.nbu.com


Free economic zones “Urgut”, “Gijduvan”, “Qoqand” and “Hazarasp”

Free economic zones “Urgut”, “Gijduvan”, “Qoqand” and “Hazarasp” have been established by President Decree dated 12 January 2017.
According to the decree, Uzbekistan plans to create free economic zone “Urgut” (Samarkand region), free economic zone “Gijduvan” (Bukhara region), free economic zone “Qoqand” (Ferghana region) and free economic zone “Hazarasp” (Khorezm region).
The main tasks and directions of the activities of the new zones will be attraction of foreign direct investments of foreign and local investors to create modern capacities on production of demanded goods in foreign markets and import-replacing products with high added value.
New zones also ensure complex and efficient use of production and resource potentials of Samarkand, Bukhara, Ferghana and Khorezm regions.
The zones will also create modern production capacities in the sphere of deep processing, storage and packaging of fruits, vegetables and agriculture goods, textile, carpet, footwear and leather products, ecologic secure chemical, pharmaceutical, foods, electrotechnical industry, machinery and automobile, construction materials, and other directions.
Among the tasks of the zone is also deepening processing of localized production of high technological goods on the base of local raw materials and products via establishing close cooperation relations and development of industrial cooperation.
The document said that new SEZs will function during 30 years with opportunity to prolong. The special tax and custom preferences will be in force during this time.
State Committee of Uzbekistan on land resources, geodesy, cartography and state cadastre in cooperation with the Ministry of Economy and regional administrations will determine concrete borders of the new zones.